My Doctor is Leaving

My family doctor is leaving.  She was gracious enough to tell me this about a month ago  She wanted to let me know before word got out on the street.  I really appreciated that.  She remembered all the trouble I have already had with doctors and therapists. This doctor has so much empathy.  She would always take the time to listen to me.  She is great to all her patients in that respect.  Sometimes I would have to wait up to an hour and a half to see her for that reason.  I also appreciated the fact that even though I am reluctant to take drugs she wouldn’t be disapproving.  She would try to help me in other ways.

I have seen her now for a couple of years. It took me a year of seeing her before starting to open up about my history.  I have only told her a few things.  But I thought it only fair so she would know where I was coming from when it came to medical procedures.  I shouldn’t have been surprised, especially with her being a doctor, but she told me that she’d already suspected as much.

She has transferred my care over to another doctor within the practice.  She told me that she would talk to the new doctor about my history so I wouldn’t have to start over with the telling.  But for me it will be starting over. I will still have to build up the trust.  It just doesn’t come instantly for me.

I have been able to disconnect the fact that she is leaving. Until now.  My last appointment is coming up soon.  I hate change.  And apparently I have some abandonment issues which I really hate.  But life goes on and this really sucks.  I know it will take time but I will really miss this doctor.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

