Trying to Accept my Past

I never really thought that it affected me.  Nothing I couldn’t handle anyway.  Besides it was all in the past.  I had it all contained.  I would listen to other people’s stories and never acknowledge mine.  I didn’t have a story.  I would rarely talk about my past and certainly nothing about the bad stuff that went on.

Although I will say that it has been like white noise in my mind.  Sometimes just background noise, sometimes drowning all else out.  Images are constantly replaying in my mind but I’ve always been able to ignore them like they are separate from me.  This is hard to explain even to myself.

Then the anxiety burst out of the container and has caused me to walk to a little closer to what was and to what is.  It is a path I need to walk no matter how hard it will be.  I just hope that I can do it.

It’s like I have two lives, the one the world sees and the one that only I see.  But the one that I only see is ignored by me.  I need to learn to acknowledge and accept that part of me.  It’s something I have been working on in therapy but I just haven’t been able to get there yet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying to Accept my Past

  1. Harriet says:

    Trying to accept it and realizing that you need to accept it is the first step. It’s a slow process, that’s for sure. But you’ll get there, you really will.

    • lostinamaze says:

      It does seem to be a slow process. Some days I feel like I’m on the verge of acceptance and than I seem to back away. But at least I realize that now. I guess that is some kind of progress. Thank you Harriet.

Leave a Reply

