Strength

My therapist on occasion has mentioned the strength that she sees within me.  I don’t see it myself and will tell her so.  She told me recently that maybe I am comfortable feeling that way.  I have given it some thought and she is probably right to a certain extent.  It is hard to let go of my belief set and step out of my box.  I also think that we are looking at it from different perspectives.

She tells me that she sees strength in me in how I survived and learned to cope with what I was dealt with.  She also tells me she sees strength in that I am willing to go through the hard stuff  in my healing journey.  I see a lack of strength in me because of how I can’t seem to deal with it now and that I let my past affect me after all these years.  I see a lack of strength in me for the fact that it even affected me at all.  But the curious thing is, is that I don’t see a lack of strength in other people at all.  I can easily see the strength in others with their healing journeys and lives.  I’m not sure why I can’t see it within myself.

So as I said I have given this some thought.  I decided to step out of my box and try to figure out what could be a strength.  If not a strength then an accomplishment.  I hope that I can come up with something.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Strength

  1. Harriet Welch says:

    I think we often have stricter expectations of ourselves than we have of others. It’s part of the nature of the type of people we are. We really don’t treat ourselves the way we would treat others. I often wonder what I would say to myself if I met myself for the first time.

    • lostinamaze says:

      I think one of the hardest things is for me to have compassion for myself. Good question. That is an interesting scenario to think about.

  2. WillSpirit says:

    The sad thing about suffering is that it often blinds us to our strengths: “If I were strong, I wouldn’t be suffering.” The truth is, anyone who works to get better, instead of just staying stuck, demonstrates courage and fortitude. Anyone who reaches out to others shows humanity and humility. And anyone who writes about their struggles practices honesty and helpfulness. Pain does not equal weakness. Even a casual reading of your blog shows many examples of insight and determination. We are, as they say, our own worst critics.

    • lostinamaze says:

      I am starting to see that often people don’t see me as I see myself. I need to be open to other perspectives about myself and weigh them against my own. Good or bad. What you have described hasn’t occurred to me as strengths before. Thank you, it is something I will be giving some thought to.

  3. Just Be Real says:

    New to your blog here. Reading as I go along. Thank you for sharing your heart.

    • lostinamaze says:

      Thank you for stopping by. In real life I don’t often share my heart. I want to change that and I thought that I could start by writing how I feel. What I didn’t realize was how it is to do even that.

Leave a Reply

