Therapist’s Office

Tonight I had my therapy appointment.  At the beginning of the new year my appointments were changed from Thursday nights to Tuesday nights.  Tuesday night is better for my T for a reason that I can’t remember.  I prefer Tuesday as well since I tend to be less tired at the beginning of the week than the end.  She also exchanged her office for a different one within the building.  The appointment night change didn’t really bother me but it has taken me a little longer to adjust to the new office.  Her new office is bigger and for some reason I feel less safe in bigger spaces.  It is also decorated differently.  The familiar things I used to stare at during the session when I didn’t want eye contact aren’t there or are in a different spot. Except for the chairs the furniture is all different. The office for the most part is decorated pleasantly but change + different + big space doesn’t equal safe in my mind.

Also when she is taking me to her office from the waiting room, I keep wanting to turn toward her old office and when she turns the opposite way it catches me off guard. It makes me feel a little lost.

I wouldn’t have thought that an office space would affect me this way. But apparently space matters to me.   And if I think about it space mattered to me as a child as well. I used to like hiding in small familiar places.  It gave me a sense of safety as well as a break from the chaos that was my family.

I’m sure in time the new space will become familiar and safe again but for now I feel like I am in a foreign land.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Therapist’s Office

  1. Oh that sounds sucky, I’m not surprised you are taking time to adjust. I think the environment is such an important part of the therapy – it feels like home to me, safe and comforting. If my T moved house I think I’d freak!

    • lostinamaze says:

      It took me by surprise that I would feel this way. But it does make sense since there are definitely places where I feel safer then others.

      From this experience I agree that the environment does contributes (or not) to the therapeutic experience. I’m glad that you have a safe place.

  2. Just Be Real says:

    Ahhh, dear one I hear you. My t. office is small and quaint. Soft lights. I do pray it will improve for you and getting used to the bigger surroundings. We do NOT like change do we? I certainly understand.

    Here listening to you! Blessings.

    • lostinamaze says:

      That sounds like a really nice office. For some reason I like small areas. My T has lamps in her office but I often complain to my pdoc about his fluorescent lighting. It is way too bright.

      And yes, I certainly don’t like change. But I know in time I will adjust.

  3. Harriet says:

    Oh, that does sound disconcerting. Luckily, I guess, I hate my t’s office. So if he were to move or redecorate it can only get better!

    • lostinamaze says:

      I thought that something like that wouldn’t bother me but apparently I was wrong.

      I know that I hate my pdoc office because it’s like a business office. It’s not a place where I can relax. I do mention that to him from time to time, nicely of course.

      Hopefully your T’s office will someday become a nicer place to be.

  4. Just Be Real says:

    Just came back thinking about ya!

    • lostinamaze says:

      Thank you Just Be Real. I have been very busy for the past week. It seems that the more I start to deal with my ‘stuff’ the more chaos I create. At least I am starting to recognize this pattern. I guess nobody said this journey would be easy.

Leave a Reply

