Anticipation

I had checked my mail everyday for a couple of weeks.   I usually only check my mail about once a week and only if I remember, but my days were now filled with anticipation.

One night I woke up around four in the morning.  I couldn’t get back to sleep so I drowsily checked my email on my iPhone.  I saw that I had one email.  I opened it up and saw that it was from WG saying I won.  I signed off and went back to sleep thinking what a great dream.

I woke up later that morning and went off to work.  Sometime during the day I checked my emails again and there it was.  It wasn’t a dream after all.

I’m not sure how I discovered Therapy Tales.  Probably by googling something about therapy or through someone’s blog roll.  I’m really grateful for the blogging community I have discovered.  There are many reasons why I enjoy reading other people’s blogs.

I have found through this blog along with others, that many of the things I experience in therapy are common to many.  I’m not alone.  I particularly enjoy the sense of humour that Therapy Tales brings to the (often frustrating) things I experience in therapy.  I catch myself in front of the computer laughing and saying how true as I read WG’s toons.  It often brings a much-needed lift.

One day I went to Therapy Tales and noticed that there was a Valentine’s contest.  All I had to do was comment to be put into the draw.  I did knowing that I would never win because, well, I never win.

So imagine my surprise when I received the email.  In fact I was rather stunned.  I think I read the email at least ten times to make sure it was real.  And that day I started checking my mail even though I knew it would be arriving from across the pond.

Once again I went to check the mail on February 16th and in among the bills I spotted this.

Yay! the much-anticipated envelope finally arrived and only two days after Valentines. But I didn’t open it right away.  I put it on my desk where I could look at it through out the day.  I wanted to savour the moment and quite frankly I still wasn’t sure it was real.

The next morning the time had finally come. I opened the envelope.  My first Valentine’s card as an adult ever.

Thank you Wounded Genius and Therapy Tales!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Anticipation

  1. WG says:

    You’re more than welcome sunshine! I’m glad it got there eventually.. the little fella travelled a long way!
    Lots of love
    WG.xx

  2. filigreegirl says:

    I’m quite jealous and think it should be my turn to win next year, but lucky you!

  3. Awesome! I’m so glad you won this 🙂

  4. Ellen says:

    What a lovely Valentine’s surprise! I’m going to check out TT. I like reading therapy blogs for the same reason – I see I’m not quite so alone as I thought.

  5. Cassie says:

    That’s awesome you won it, I do enjoy Therapy Tales too 🙂

  6. Just Be Real says:

    Congrats dear one. Happy for you!!

Leave a Reply

