Just Do It

You can do it.  I have great faith that you can.

I wouldn’t do this (end therapy) if I knew you couldn’t.

These words were often spoken to me by my former t especially near the end of therapy.  The words annoy the crap out of me, to put it mildly.  My response to her when she first said them was “I know I can do it”.  I have been doing it all my life.  She would then say that she knew I could do it in a healthy way.  Going for walks, using my (supposed) supports, kayaking, etc.  I would say back to her, I have been doing those things all my life.  They are nothing new to me.

We were talking about coping.

She would continue the conversation by saying how as a child I figured out how to cope with all the crap going on.  I would just shrug my shoulders.  I did what I did.  I always had healthy coping skills mixed in with the bad coping skills.

After the first few times she said this to me I quit responding to it.  I would just smile at her.  Sometimes I wasn’t sure who she was trying to convince, herself or me.  But more often then not I started equating with what she was saying to ‘now therapy can end because you can cope in a healthy way’.

And this is one of the reasons for the first break and for therapy ending.  So I can put into practice those skills I learned.

I would tell her that I wanted more then just coping.  Healthy or otherwise.

F*** coping.  I just want to be able to live my life fully and not have it directed by what happened in the past.  Is that to much to ask?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Do It

  1. JBR says:

    Not too much to ask at all. I would hate having to constantly hear those words as well. I am so very sorry LIM what you are experiencing and going through now. I cannot imagine!

    • lostinamaze says:

      When I think about those words I wonder if she thinks I don’t need therapy at all. And it makes me feel deficient somehow in thinking coping is not enough for me.

  2. I don’t think it’s too much to ask. Who wants to simply “survive”? We want to LIVE.

    • lostinamaze says:

      How true, I’ve spent my life surviving. Words like that make me wonder if there’s nothing more than surviving for me. I do want more.

  3. I agree. To me, it always feels like what they are saying is. im done, theres nothing more i can do. Cue abandonment and rejection issues. And i agree, ‘surviving’ is never enough. xx

    • lostinamaze says:

      I wonder if there is truth in what your saying about this. Maybe there is nothing more she can do for me. I just wish if that’s the case she would have come right out and said it. This would tie into a comment she made to me that it might be good for me to try someone else. Abandonment/rejection for sure!

  4. Harriet says:

    Life should be more than coping. We are all strong people, we can cope. I think what we want is to live.

    • lostinamaze says:

      You’re so right. I know I’m strong probably too strong when to comes right down to it. I wonder what living really is for me. Stuff to think about.

  5. Are you doing okay Lost?

    • lostinamaze says:

      I’m ok sanity, lots going on with my family these days. And nobody irl to talk to. Thanks for checking. Means lots.

Leave a Reply

