Busy

My life has been extremely busy these days and I’m bone tired.  I’m even having a hard time finding time or energy to be online.  And my life is about to be turned upside down.

In the last few months I’ve had to do a lot of travelling to the next province.  My mother is very sick and has had to see several doctors and have various tests done.  After she got out of the hospital I told her I didn’t think she should be driving herself to the city to see the doctors.  She totally shocked me and has not been going to the city on her own.  That is proof she is not well.  The problem with that is I now have to take her.  That’s a lot of travelling for me.  Maybe I should ask why she doesn’t ask a friend to take her.

She owns a beautiful piece of land but her house is falling down around her ears.  Over the last few years my siblings have been on my case about telling her she needs to move.  Apparently, according to them, I’m the only one she listens to.  So I’ve been slowly talking here and there to her about it.  After her stay in the hospital she seemed to change and agreed to move.  I suggested to her that she could either find an apartment or come stay with my sister and I.  Well she has chosen to stay with us until she decides what she would like to do.

We have been doing renovations on our house and her decision has sped up some of those renos.  The last few weeks have been consumed with this.  I’ve also been taking the odd day off in order to move some of her possessions here.  I find it interesting that the siblings who were so ‘concerned’ with her well-being have not helped at all.

My mother is a control freak and very critical.  I did a post about it.  I know my sister and her will butt heads. They are both very stubborn people and not very easy going.  I can for the most part just shrug my shoulders at my mother’s weirdness.  Or just walk away.  I have never confronted her and I can’t see myself starting now.  Even in my own home I will probably turn into that little kid, trapped.   But who knows, that might not happen because my mother might be too sick to be ornery.

Anyway I am predicting there will be a lot of tension until we all settle into our new routines.  There are a number of things that I do that I will have to change because I know my mother won’t approve.  I know it’s my house and I can do what I want but I just hate the hassle of those battles.  I rather not battle.

My house isn’t the biggest but I’m really glad it has three floors and the top floor is all mine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Busy

  1. Sorry to hear your mum is not well. I hope the transition of settling into your new routine goes well. I totally hear what you are saying about turning into a little kid once your mum moves in. Just hold onto the fact that it is your house and is your space. x

  2. JBR says:

    You have a lot of responsibility riding on your shoulders now. Wish some of your sibling would help out, but you know them better. Praying that your mum’s issues will improve and that things will eventually settle for you dear one.

    • lostinamaze says:

      There just seems so much to organize at this point and it’s a bit overwhelming. I hope things go easier once she is here.

  3. Harriet says:

    Wow, that will be a big adjustment. I’m sorry she is ill and that your siblings don’t seem to be stepping up to the plate. They see you doing just fine, so they don’t think they need to help out! Keep us posted.

    • lostinamaze says:

      It’s going to be a huge adjustment for her as well as us. I’ve been doing my best to be patient, with everyone. And I never thought of that, they must see me as doing fine. sigh

  4. I really hope that the transition goes well for you and your mom.

Leave a Reply

