No Third Session

I decided I would take a vacation in the first two weeks of October.  I was pretty excited about it.  It’s been over ten years since I’ve had one.  I wasn’t planning on going far, just a couple of trips here and there.  More than anything I wanted some me time.

Things started going awry about half a week before the start of my vacation.  My mom took another turn for the worse.  I tried phoning her and got no answer. My sister finally got hold of her and something wasn’t right.  My sister left right away to drive to next province to check up on her and found her on the floor dazed and confused.  My sister brought her back to my town and went straight way to the hospital.  My mom got out of the hospital a few days into my vacation and since my sister was working I stayed home to care for her for the first few days.  She was still weak and not eating and we didn’t want to leave her alone.

Finally I was able to go to the city to do one of the fun things I do with my dog.  It was our last lesson and I didn’t want to miss it.  On the way home a deer ran full tilt out of the ditch and I collided with it.  I had to wait on the side of the road on a major highway in the black of night for someone to come.  It was too dark to see if my vehicle was drivable.  Nothing was leaking so I slowly made my way home.  I had to spend the next few days doing a report with the police, dealing with the insurance and going to the body shop.  As soon as the guy at the body shop saw my car he pronounced it not drivable and gave me a ride home.  I’m now driving a rental.  The damage to my car is over eight thousand dollars. sigh.

The weekend in the middle of my holidays I ended up going to my mom’s house to deal with some stuff as she is now living permanently with us.  I woke up in the morning with a bit of a sore throat.  I ignored it and went to my mom’s place anyway.  The sore throat got progressively worse and by the next morning I felt like I’d been hit by a semi-trailer truck.

I was hoping to be better by the day of group therapy but of course not.  There was no way I could go and besides I didn’t want to spread this germ around.  One of the facilitators phoned me the next day to see how I was doing.  She also wanted to know if there was any way I could pick up the handouts they gave out that night. They also gave out some homework. I said I would try to get into the city a few days before group.  It’s a pain because it means extra travelling for me.  I can’t get them faxed because I don’t have my own private fax machine. I’m finally starting to feel better but this was one nasty virus that ended up consuming the rest of my holidays.  I was too sick to even leave the house.

I guess what I’m trying to say is my holidays ended up in being a non holiday.  Maybe I need to stay away from taking holidays.  Too much stress!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to No Third Session

  1. JBR says:

    Oh my goodness. Just reading event after unexpected event with those couple of weeks is unbelievable. You have been through a lot. I am sorry you have been sick. I missed three days of work last week because of being ill. This bug is just not going around in our country, but even in yours. Well, at least you got that one thing of fun in with your precious dog. So, your mum is staying with you permanently now. If I understand correctly? Could not your handouts be scanned by the facilitator and then emailed to you? Safe hugs and get well soon.

    • lostinamaze says:

      Yes, my mom is now living with me and my sister. It has been interesting to say the least. I ended up asking the facilitator to fax them to where I work after hours. I hope you’re feeling better.

  2. Lily says:

    Man that really sucks 😦 I commend you for trying to take some time to yourself, I just hate that it ended up being about so many other things!

    I hope you feel better soon, as well as your mom!

    • lostinamaze says:

      I am feeling much better although I have a lingering cough. I really don’t know how my mom is. She is very closed about how things really are but she looks awful to me. I’m hoping my holiday next year will be much better.

  3. Ellen says:

    Not a fun holiday for you maze. I am sorry, because you deserve a real vacation. I hated it when my mother was so sick also – too much family to deal with. I hope things are settling down for you. Yeah, have the facilitator scan and email those docs – they probably even have soft copies already. No sense driving just for that. take care

    • lostinamaze says:

      Waaay too much family to deal with. I couldn’t deal with the thought of driving 3 hours total just for some papers so I got them faxed to the place where I work, after working hours. It worked out good.

  4. Amanda says:

    This sounds so tough and I hope that things are calming down as the weekend has gone on.

    Feel better soon.

    • lostinamaze says:

      Things aren’t really calming down but they are more predictable now which is way better. I am feeling better now, thank you for stopping by.

  5. Woah, when it rains, it pours! Maybe in a twisted way it is a good thing you had vacation time to deal with everything that came up. Talk about sucky though 😦

    • lostinamaze says:

      It was better in some ways then having to take time off of work but it certainly wasn’t what I was planning. I really feel I need to get away for a few days.

  6. Ouch! I’m sorry to hear that you wait 10 years and this is the kind of vacation you get! I hope it gets better for you, soon.

    • lostinamaze says:

      It was kind of weird how it all happened at once like that. Hopefully next time I take holidays it won’t be jinxed.

  7. Harriet says:

    Oh dear, what a horrible week. I hope you are feeling a bit better by now, and your mom too. I’ve always been terrified about hitting a deer, we have so many of them around here. I’m glad you are ok.

    • lostinamaze says:

      My cold is much better but I’m still feeling tired. Hitting deer doesn’t scare me (probably because I’ve hit about five of them in my lifetime (but only one other this bad)) but I do feel badly about the animal. Of course getting the car fixed is a hassle too. We have too many deer here and they are constantly getting smacked.

Leave a Reply

