Sixth Session

Emotional.  It’s how I would describe this session.  Not for me so much but for everyone else.  I haven’t cried at all during any of the sessions and this one was no exception.  Someone even commented on it once by asking if I ever cried.

We did a few activities this time around that were more on the personal side.  They brought out a baby doll that was lying in a basket.  We were given two cloths each.  We were to cover the baby with a cloth saying a negative self talk that is part of our belief system such as “I’m such a loser”.  We each did this twice and nobody seemed to have a hard time coming up with negative self comments.   What I found interesting about this exercise was not so much the comments but the fact I felt comfortable when the baby was buried under the mound of cloths.  I can’t figure that out.  Kind of strange though.

Some of the group had a hard time listening to the negative comments other group members were speaking.  It just showed me that were not so different after all.  There was a similarity to the comments we all had heard about ourselves growing up.

Then came the hard part.  We were to pick up a cloth off the baby and say two positive comments about ourselves.  Of course we had two cloths each to take which meant four positive comments about ourselves.  I had a hard time coming up with one let alone four.  We all had a hard time.

The next activity was the hardest and the most emotional for the group.  One group member at a time had to sit there and receive positive statements about them from each of us. The one receiving them just had to sit there and absorb the comments without comment.  It was actually quite powerful to witness and experience the reactions of the receivers.  It was very hard to sit there and not contradict what was being said to me.  There ended up being a lot of discussion surrounding this.  I thought it was a good session.  It showed me quite clearly how hard I am on myself.

It’s still bothering me why I felt comfortable when the baby was buried…

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Control, Relationships, Therapy, Trust, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sixth Session

  1. Lost,

    I can only say ‘ouch’.
    I’ll bet it hurt to hear the positive comments.
    Receiving is so uncomfortable isn’t it.

    Just letting you know that I’m listening here.

    xx

    • lostinamaze says:

      It was really hard to sit there. I was fighting a strong urge to contradict what was being said. It made me realize how unkind I am to myself.

  2. Hi there lost. Wanting to cover the baby seems quite an understandable reaction to me. In fact, I’ve had several similar reactions during my therapy process. I remember one memorable occasion when I put the tiny doll I’d made to represent my inner baby in the bin! My feelings were quite hostile towards my own inner baby – I wonder whether yours makes you feel uncomfortable for any reason? For me it was about unbearable unmet needs being unacceptable to me (but I have since learned to allow them).

    • lostinamaze says:

      I been giving this some thought. I’ve come to the conclusion that I intensely dislike my inner baby but I haven’t yet figured out why. When I was seeing the therapist I know I had a big problem with unmet needs and all that went with it especially in the therapeutic relationship. Knowing you can now allow them gives me hope that somehow this will be for me as well. 🙂

  3. Wow. Now that seems like an intense experience. Thank you for sharing it with us. It’s been sitting with me since I first read your post.

    • lostinamaze says:

      It was an intense experience and one I’ve been thinking about a lot as well. It give me some awareness on how I treat myself and how I speak to myself. I’ve also become more aware of how the people around me comment on themselves. It has been a real eye opener for sure!

  4. JBR says:

    Accepting compliments also is hard for me. But, at the same time, as I heal with believing that I am worth the complements little by little I see a break through. Safe hugs to you dear one.

    • lostinamaze says:

      I hope by my new awareness I will be able to slowly change my negative self talk and learn to accept the good things people may say to me. Old habits die hard though!

Leave a Reply

