Cranky

It’s the end of Christmas day and I’m so glad.  Christmas is by far my most disliked season.  Not so much because of the day itself but because of all that it reminds me of.  I mostly have crappy memories of this time of the year.  It makes me cranky.

This year, for the first time I didn’t have to travel to my mother’s for Christmas.  She has lived with us for a few months now.  Now there is no hiding from Christmas at all. I don’t decorate my house but my mother has always done hers up.  Now my house is all decorated.  I never watch Christmas specials on the TV but this year that was all we watched.  I’m glad I have my own space to get away from it all.

My mother insisted on cooking the meal.  Yikes!  There was a fair bit of drama with that.  I had to take her shopping many times for ingredients.  Things had to be prepared a certain way or else I would hear about it.  We ended up helping her a bit because she isn’t strong enough to lift the heavy turkey or a heavy pot. By this time we all were getting a tad cranky.

One of my bothers and a nephew came over for dinner.  It was nice to see them but it made for a crowded house.

I’ve always had a quiet Christmas as an adult and this year was very noisy, very busy, with everyone having very crabby moments.  Thankfully we all got through it without too much yelling.

It helped that I’m working at my jobs all through Christmas and New Years. It gives me time away even though I could really use a day or two off.  I know my mother is still trying to figure out her new role in this house.  I just hope it happens before next Christmas if her health holds up and she is still here.  Yeesh…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cranky

  1. JBR says:

    Glad you were able to survive Christmas with the new arrangements. Glad you have those secret places to escape to to regain your sanity and strength. Blessings and safe hugs.

  2. I’m glad you survived Christmas as well! Sometimes working can be a blessing. I hope you can find some time to yourself to recharge your own batteries. XX

    • lostinamaze says:

      It really is nice to get away even if it’s going to work. But I’m looking forward to having a couple of days off this week!

  3. Amanda says:

    Family can definitely be a difficult part of the holidays … I’m glad you survived!

Leave a Reply

