Hectic

I haven’t been online much in the last month or so and I’ve been really missing it.  My life has gotten more hectic than normal.  I just want to let everyone know what’s going on.

I finally got my cast off my wrist so I’m back to work at my weekend job.  I was able to work my full-time job with the cast. That means I only have every second Monday off now.  Sometimes not that if I pick up an extra shift on that day.  I don’t plan on working like this for the rest of my life but since I bought my house it’s been renovation after renovation and we’ve been doing it on a cash basis.

In the last month and a half I’ve been getting ready for the next phase of renos.  I’m doing most of the prep work in advance of the contractor arriving at the end of the month to save some money.  Between my sister, me and a friend who has helped on occasion it’s been almost non stop.

I also signed up for a photography class that is once a week for a month.  I’ve wanted to take this course for a long time now but it has never worked out.  When the opportunity came up again on an evening I could take it I jumped at the chance.  In between classes the instructor gives us a few projects to do before the next class.  It’s been a struggle to get them done but at least it’s fun and something I really enjoy doing.

Then there is the matter of therapy.  The therapist has given me some work to do as well between sessions. I haven’t really determined how the therapy is going.  I think this therapist is more action orientated.  She says it’s one thing to have insight or knowledge about oneself but what do you do with this knowledge.  I agree with that to an extent but the difficulty with me is that I can have a hard time with the ‘doing’.  We have spent some time tying to figure out why.  I have to say I find this is very frustrating but it’s probably good to have someone push me (I think).  More on that later.

It’s been hard to fit all this into my weeks but hopefully in a couple of months the really hectic will slow down to the normal hectic.

I’m exited about getting this next phase of renos done.  It’s my space in the house that is getting done and I can’t wait to decorate it although decorating is not my strong point.  If any of you out there like decorating you’re welcome to drop by!

This entry was posted in Therapist, Therapy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hectic

  1. Harriet says:

    Great to hear from you – you certainly are busy! I totally agree that you can have all the insight in the world and it won’t change a thing. I think I’ve gotten through the insight part of my therapy, which I thought was hard, but the “doing” phase is even harder. Let me know if you have any secrets!

    • lostinamaze says:

      I will certainly let you know if I find any secrets to this! This therapist is trying to push me beyond the insight part but in a good way I think. But I do find it hard to put things into action.

  2. Amanda says:

    It sure does sound like you’re busy! I’m glad you’re getting your space situated and that you’ve picked up a photography class (I’ve wanted to take one for a while)! My only advice for your personal space is “comforting colors”. I painted my room a bit ago and it’s a warm sage color – and I love being within it. As for therapy, those therapists can sure kick butt when it comes to pushing us. Keep at it though and try to trust the process. You’re doing great!

    • lostinamaze says:

      I am trying to stay with what the therapist is trying to encourage me to do and not rebel. I am loving the photography course! Comforting colors, good idea. I will have to decide soon!

  3. JBR says:

    So glad to see you dear and that you are not immobilized by the cast anymore. Glad you are keeping busy. Changing your house. Wow! Photography sounds very exciting too. I am sure you can get pleasure out of taking beautiful pictures knowing you captured something special! I am excited for you! Yeah, I am by nature a person that has to figure our things. Finally learning and understanding, by doing (yes can be very hard) is all falls into place. Hugs to you dear!

    • lostinamaze says:

      I am beyond happy to be out of the cast. I was on the verge of cutting it off myself! 🙂 I didn’t know doing would be so hard. But onward…

Leave a Reply

